Technics PCM Sound EX5L Organ

Well, I’ve escaped the Computer Organ Terror War with nothing but mental scars.  Sorry for the absence, but I mean, you all had to deal with it, too.  I was truly sure that the Computer Organ High Command were going assimilate the last B-3 on Earth with a VSTi compatible USB port for online editing.  Who could have seen that playing Liberace would destroy the Computer Organ Uprising?  I would have guessed “Switched On Bach” or something else synthesizery that would have made the Computer Organs feel inadequate.  Instead, it was their lack of purity.  Hmmmm… I’m not sure I like that moral.

OUR SAVIOUR FROM BEYOND THE GRAVE!

Anyway, I’m back, for now.  Due to the unspeakable horror of the past few months – people are dumping their organs like never before!

Today we have this Gothic beauty:

The Technics PCM Sound EX5L

via this AUCTION

Dirt cheap opening with a 95.00 bid out of Colorado Springs.


5 comments on “Technics PCM Sound EX5L Organ

  1. Lance says:

    This blog is AWESOME! When I was a kid, I was obsessed with everything Thomas made. We had a Jester 132 for a year or two, then we got a Monticello 371. We still have it, though it’s been unplugged for a long time, and might self-destruct upon receiving electricity. I was fascinated by the Trianon (sp?), the Celebrity Royale, and that cool 2001-esque model that Thomas put out. Their last models, in the late seventies, were especially nifty.

    To further illustrate my compulsion, I never failed to get whatever brochures the music stores had for the various brands they carried. I used to pour over all of the rhythm options and various special sounds, as well as the names of the auto-accompaniment features, etc. Wow… good times, and yes, I was a weird kid. Unfortunately, all of those brochures have been in the city dump for a good 25 years. Oh the humanity!

    Anyway, please keep posting.

  2. marshottentot says:

    Ohhh, a true believer! My lust is fairly recent (two years or so), when I realized that the organ can go further than most folks take it. Glad you like the blog, I’m just trying to spark a bit of interest with a little humor.

    Keep your eyes peeled, I’ve been posting fairly infrequently, but I’m not abandoning the Organ*Pron!!

  3. rita says:

    hi there. this organ is on ebay in my hometown of melbourne, australia and im thinking of buying it. would you say this organ is better than an electone? which i prefer, but hard to find an affordable second hand one around here. Im hoping to resume my organ studies, but cant get a good organ out this way (when i asked the lady at a music store if they sold electronic organs, she laughed!)…please help!

  4. marshottentot says:

    Rita, I think you answered your own question, but in my opinion: I couldn’t say for sure as I haven’t played Technics PCM EX5L – but it looks like it’s worth it if you feel it’s reasonably priced. Personally, I’d buy it in a heartbeat, but I’m pretty into gear. Ummm, something is better than nothing, I’d say. Let us know what you think if you pick it up!

  5. George says:

    I found one of these organs in the recycle shop of the local tip in country Victoria, Australia. Bought it for $5! Seems to work perfectly and is in good condition, although it was a little dusty. The kids have a ball on it. Also have a grand piano and they play duets on them. Am looking for a manual for the organ to best utilise all of the features – not so easy to come by. The organ is a ripper, though.

Comments are closed.